“England’s most original singer-songwriter” All Music Guide

“One of the most influential characters on the contemporary acoustic music scene” Guitar & Bass

Virtuoso guitarist and critically-acclaimed songwriter, championed by John Peel and later Charles Shaar Murray, Michael Chapman recorded a quartet of highly-regarded albums for EMI’s progressive Harvest label.

In this third in the Growing Pains archive recordings releases, he presides over previously unreleased tracks spanning folk rock, blues, jazz and experimental genres – ranging from a live solo performance in 1969 to studio collaboration with Thurston Moore (Sonic Youth) in 2005, by way of a 1980’s TV film soundtrack with Maddy Prior and Rick Kemp (Steeleye Span), and much more besides.

“Growing Pains 3” is another highly personal ‘take’ on the rich and varied career of one of British music’s most individualistic craftsmen.


Streaming now  via this link

Watch on YouTube  via this link

Artist:   Michael Chapman

Title:     Growing Pains 3

File:      Rock

Label:   Singsong Music

Format: Digital

Cat:      SINGSONG118

Barc:    5060683670346

Rel:      August 28th 2020

Track Listing:

  1. Rabbit Hills
  2. A Scholarly Man
  3. For Mr G
  4. So Young
  5. Sunday Morning
  6. Tow Law
  7. Percy Topless
  8. Babe
  9. Too Soon to Tell
  10. Untitled
  11. Youth is Wasted On the Young
  12. Youth is Wasted On the Young (alt. version)