“…a remarkable collection, and a welcome one….” All Music Guide

Unreleased session tracks recorded in London between 1978 and 1998 by the late troubadour, “The London Sessions (1978-1998)” showcases what a talent US-born, by now London-based Tim Rose was.

While it starts atypically with one out-and-out rock song, “Like A European”, the balance of this Pierre Tubbs-produced set is largely more intimate, Rose’s acoustic take of the Bee Gees’ “I Started a Joke” setting the tone for most of the album.

There’s a growled take on “Over The Rainbow” from ‘The Wizard of Oz’ and a percussive interpretation of “Hey Joe”, a song readily associated with Rose on account of the version he recorded in the late ‘60s (assiduously listened to by Jimi Hendrix) and still retaining its air of threat, magnificently.

Conversely, ‘‘Lady’s Coming Home For Christmas’’, with its folksy spoken word passage and lush orchestration is a rousing masterpiece of festive celebration (if not without sardony).

Rose was not the most prolific of songwriters and many of his albums can offer more interpretations of other people’s songs than originals.

New compositions bearing his name are of interest and the low-key, up-close folk of “Borocay” and “The Answer” rank among the best of his later works.

Artist:    Tim Rose

Title:      The London Sessions (1978-1998)

File:        Rock

Format: Digital album

Label:     Singsong Music

Cat:         SINGSONG140

UPC:       5060683670605

Rel:         February 26th 2021



1    Like a European

2   I Started a Joke

3   The Rose

4   Somewhere Over The Rainbow

5    I Guess It Doesn’t Matter Anymore

6    Pavement Princess

7    It’s All Gone Wrong

8    There I go Again

9    Hey Joe

10  Lady’s Coming Home For Christmas

11   Borocay (Yo Tengo Amore Te)

12  The Answer