Previously-unreleased recordings from the 1970s and ‘80s by US bands fronted by former Quintessence singer Phil ‘Shiva’ Jones, this new release from Kala is truly a trip from East to West.

Quintessence’s music crossed the Grateful Dead and Hendrix with Ravi Shankar: the band stood out from the crowd in every sense of the term and their recordings for Britain’s uber-hip Island label have duly stood the test of time.

When it folded in 1972, Jones and guitarist Dave ‘Maha Dev’ Codling formed Kala. While its overlooked debut suffered at the hands of personnel issues and indifferent label management, with antecedents like its’, Kala was a force to be reckoned with.

Reissued in 2020 by Singsong Music (with some raucous live bonus material), this self-titled Americana gem, is now complemented by ‘Tumbleweed Dreams’.  Recorded at various US studios, this selection of 15 previously unreleased 1970s and ‘80s studio and rehearsal recordings was recorded with line-ups from his bands Room 101 and Big Children.

More muscular, more American, it drinks deep from country, as well as soul and funk with a powerhouse performance from Jones.


                 Streaming now at Spotify  via this link

                 Buy now  via this link


Artist:        Kala

Title:          Tumbleweed Dreams

File:            Country/Rock

Format:     Digital Album

Label:         Singsong Music

Cat:              SINGSONG153

UPC:            5060683670742

Rel:              August 20th 2021



  1. Blue Law
  2. Tumbleweed Dreams
  3. Heartland of Misery
  4. Snake Oil
  5. Overload
  6. Millionaire
  7. French Song
  8. The Trekkie Song
  9. Warm Lovin’
  10. Back on The Team
  11. Heart of Steel
  12. Give It Away
  13. Can You Rock ‘n’ Roll
  14. Oasis
  15. Sunrise