Artist:     Jim McCarty Band

Title:       Two Steps Ahead

File:        Blues/Rock

Stream and buy this album  via this link

Blues rock was a key component in the music of The Yardbirds and the genre was to be revisited in the 1980s by guitarist Top Topham and drummer Jim McCarty when they decided to form a band together with bass player, Louis Cennamo (Renaissance) and play regular blues nights at west London pub, The Station Tavern.

With local circuit bluesman Shakey Vic guesting on harmonica, delivering an authentic brew of simple blues covers, the Jim McCarty Band unsurprisingly went down a storm, with full houses every Wednesday night of the week.

There were a few changes to the line-up during the next few years playing the pub dates and by the time the band went into the studio it had picked up American John Idan and Ray Majors (British Lions) on dual lead guitars along with Rod Demick (Strawbs) on bass.

Offering up a mix of covers and some original songs, ‘Two Steps Ahead’ bottles the spirit of what made their little super-group work so well every Wednesday night at the Station Tavern in a straight, great blues rock album.


  1. Outside Woman Blues
  2. Slow Drivers
  3. Lawyers, Guns & Money
  4. No Place To Go
  5. Heavy Weather
  6. How Blue Can You Get
  7. Walking Through the Back Streets
  8. Framed
  9. Your Heart’s Not In It
  10. Black Hearted Woman
  11. I’ll Go Crazy
  12. No Easy Way Out
  13. Two Steps Ahead