Artist:     Nick Simper’s   Fandango

Title:       Slipstreaming

File:        Hard rock/Classic Rock

A founding member of Deep Purple, British music veteran Nick Simper formed Fandango in the late 1970s post-retirement of his hard-rocking act Warhorse, famed for two noteworthy albums on the collectible Vertigo label.

Stream and download this album now  via this link

The line-up comprising Simper (bass), Neil MacArthur (keyboards) along with ex-Warhorse guitarist Pete Parks, drummer Ron Penny and vocalist Jim Proops, 1979’s ‘Slipstreaming’ delivers heavy rock with occasional mellow stylings with inevitable flair in the run-up to the New Wave of British Heavy Metal.

Bonus tracks find the band moving to a more mainstream/AOR including a 1982-recorded cover of Russ Ballard’s “Just Another Day (In The Life of A Fool)”, Procul Harum keyboardist Matthew Fisher guesting, released as a single with B-side the Fandango-penned “Wish I’d Never Woke Up.”

Well-received by classic rock fans (not least of all Deep Purple’s), ‘Slipstreaming’ was joined the following year by the band’s ‘Future Times’.


  1. Candice Larene
  2. Rocky Road Blues
  3. Independent Man (Hey Mama)
  4. The Stallion
  5. Slipstreaming
  6. Schoolhouse Party
  7. Sister
  8. Mississippi Lady
  9. Time Will Tell
  10. Just Another Day
  11. Wish I’d Never Woke Up