Original Quintessence line-up

Artist:      Shiva’s Quintessence

Title:        Cosmic Surfer

File:          Progressive Rock/Psych

Originally released in 2005, ‘Cosmic Surfer’ was the first release by the refreshed progressive/psych rock band Quintessence. 

Helmed by former member Phil ‘Shiva’ Jones and music partner Ralph ‘Rudra’ Beauvert, it picks up many of the themes concerning its 1960s/’70s precursor, weaving humour, speech and satire into topics covering the global community today.

Electronica, rock and ambient/new age tropes are embedded into songs like “Reptilian Corporate Sign Language” that address the corporate greed of our times; “But What Am I?” is a Pythonesque take on alien abduction and our search for meaning; “Blue Is Beautiful” and “Everything Is Weird” focus on environmental issues while “Hollywood Guru” and “New Age Bread Head” send up the New Age Guru circuit.

Complementing these are exciting, contemporary reboots of some of the former band’s finest moments including “Giants”, “Ganga Mai” and “Cosmic Surfer” itself: bundling a forever entertaining, eclectic, essay in music and world politics, its concerns as relevant today as they were then.

Read the Quintessence story at  www.mooncowhq.ch/

Buy and Stream this album now  via this link

Track listing:

  1. Reptilian Corporate Sign Language
  2. But What Am I?
  3. Dolphin Dreaming,
  4. Blue is Beautiful
  5. Didgeridoo Medicine Man/Om Namah Shivaya Chant
  6. Everything is Weird
  7. Blame
  8. New Age Bread Head
  9. Hollywood Guru/Hollywood Guru Show
  10. Giants/Annunaki/White Powder Gold
  11. Cosmic Surfer
  12. Ganga Mai
  13. Oasis
  14. Sun
  15. Hail Mary/Divine Mother Chant
  16. Hallelujad
  17. Sri Ram Chant/Hari Narayana Chant
  18. Om Mane Padme Hum

More music from Shiva and Rudra via this link